You are here

Forstemann lights up Skinner Park

Monday, April 22, 2013
Competition in the Men’s Elimination Race which was eventually won by Spaniard Alberto Torres at the Njisane Phillip cycling festival in the Arima Velodrome, Friday night. PHOTO:DARREN RAMPERSAD

The world’s third quickest sprint cyclist Robert Forstemann of Germany awed the crowd on the second day of the inaugural Njisane Three-Day Cycling Festival, which continued on Saturday, when he captured one of the highlight events, the DirecTV raffle sprint, with a win over Venezuela’s top rider Hersony Canelon.


Forstemann faced Canelon in the final and took victory after beating local rider Adam Alexander in the last four stage, when the competition moved to Skinner Park, San Fernando. Alexander would be the second T&T athlete to get dropped at the stage in the raffle sprint, as tournament host Njisane Phillip, the crowd favourite was eliminated by Canelon, who is ranked 21 places higher than the Trinidadian in UCI track world rankings. Though Phillip took third, he would once again shine with a win in the men’s international 10-lap.


The women’s version of the DirecTV raffle sprint was captured by Cuban Lisandra Guerra. Guerra defeated Olga Streltsova, after losing her first race. Steph McKenzie and Natasha Hansen took third and fourth, respectively.


Among the races was an international BMX event challenged by 10 top cyclists, of whom were perhaps too large for the frames, competing for a chance to win a bike (sponsored by Bike Smith CC) for a child.


Fittingly, Gene Samuel, a local retired cyclist and a crowd favourite, won the race among the men, while Hansen took the women’s race.


All fun was put aside in 20-lap men’s international endurance event. Spanish rider Albert Torres took the race by 0.007 seconds at the expense of Asian sensation Josiah Ng of Malaysia. 


More of the same top level of competition and camaraderie were expected last evening on the third and final day of the inaugural competition, which continued and concluded at Skinner Park, from 6 pm.

International Men Seven laps


1st- Njisane Phillip (Team 1)


2nd- Kwesi Browne (Team 2)


3rd- Gene Samuel (Team 1)


4th- Hersony Canelon (Team 1)

International & Senior Women Seven laps


1st- Olga Streltsova (Team 2)


2nd- Elena Brezhniva (Team 3)


3rd- Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez (Team 1)


4th- Natasha Hansen (Team 3)

Direct TV Raffle Sprint International Men


1st- Robert Forstemann (Team 2)


2nd- Hersony Canelon (Team 1)


3rd- Njisane Phillip (Team 1)


4th- Quincy Alexander (Team 5)

DirecTV Raffle Sprint International & Senior Women


1st- Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez (Team 1)


2nd- Olga Streltsova (Team 2)


3rd- Stephanie McKenzie (Team 2)


4th- Natasha Hansen (Team 3)

Celebrity Race 2 lap


1st- Kernel Roberts


2nd- Shal Marshall


3rd- Jason Williams

Junior Women Three laps


1st- Cheyenne Awai (AWCC)

Tinymite Women Three laps


1st- Chenelle Walcott (Madonna)


2nd- Jhordan St George (Madonna)


3rd- Tisha Lee Figueroa (Madonna)

Juvenile Women Three laps


1st- Joy Abigail John (AWCC)


2nd- Khollyn St George (Madonna)


3rd- Dominique Lovell (AWCC)

Juniors Three laps


1st- Joshua Kelly (Sonics)


2nd- Liam Lovell (Bar)


3rd- Edwin Sutherland (Bar)


4th- Barrington Perreira (Bike Smith)

Tinymites Two laps win-and-out


1st- Jacob Kelly (Sonics)


2nd- Tyler Cole (Sonics)


3rd- Akeem Lopez (Mad)

Juveniles Elimination


1st- David Zacharry Orr (Bike Smith)


2nd- Sei Daniel (AWCC)


3rd- Kristoff Frontin (Sonics)


4th- Ramon Belmontes (Petrotrin)

Elite-4 Three laps


1st- Brent Wells (Bike Smith)


2nd- Ivan Puckering (G4S Team Swift)


3rd- Desmond Nedd (Bike Smith)


4th- Robindranath Balgobin (Hummingbird)

Elite-3 Three laps


1st- Jonathan Harding (Madonna)


2nd- Brendon Phillip (Southclaine)


3rd- Roger Malco Team (Foundation)


4th- Sylvester Joseph (Southampton)

International & Senior Women Two lap (Handicap)


1st- Elena Brezhniva (Team 3)


2nd- Natasha Hansen (Team 3)


3rd- Olga Streltsova (Team 2)


4th- Juliana Rendon (Team 3)

International Men Two lap (Handicap)


1st- Fabian Purta Zapata (Team 2)


2nd- Valentin Savitsky (Team 3)


3rd- Kwesi Browne (Team 2)


4th- Tomas Babek (Team 3)

Masters 40-49 Five laps


1st- Roger Smart (Madonna)


2nd- Rocky Hosein (Hummingbird)


3rd- Ancil Roberts (Sonics)


4th- Cecil Hackett (Bike Smith)

Masters 50-59 Five laps


1st- Clyde Pollinais (Southclaine)


2nd- Wayne Samuel (Southclaine)


3rd- George Luft (USA)


4th- Earl Clifford (Parkside)

Masters 60+ Four laps


1st- Pat Nelson (Team Trek)


2nd- Earl La Fond (Unattached)


3rd- Kent Luces (Sonics)


4th- Godfrey Clyne (Southclaine)

Elite-2 Elimination


1st- Jude Codrington (Petrotrin)


2nd- Michael Phillips (Mikes Bikes)


3rd- Ako Kellar (Testi Cicli)


4th- Troy Nelson (Bike Smith)

Elite-1 Elimination


1st- Kaleb Koch (USA)


2nd- Barry Luces (Sonics)


3rd- Jovian Gomez (Team DPS)


4th- Warren Mc Kay (Team Trek)

International BMX Race 


(Two bikes sponsored by Bike Smith CC)


Men’s winner- Gene Samuel


Women’s winner- Natasha Hansen

International Men Elimination


1st- Adam Ptacnik (Team 5)


2nd- Albert Torres (Team 4)


3rd- Darren Matthews (Team 1)


4th- Varun Maharajh (Team 1)

International & Senior Women


1st- Hannah Walker (Team 2)


2nd- Shelby Reynolds (Team 2) 


3rd- Juliana Rondon (Team 3)


4th- Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez (Team 1)


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.