You are here

North Calypso Monarch in Young Kings final

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Reigning TUCO North Calypso Monarch Duane O'Connor has been selected for the 2012 Young Kings Calypso Monarch Competition. Also making it to the final are Roy Cape All Stars vocalist Blaxx, his Dil-e-Nadan counterpart Derrick Seales (Dr Seales), and 2011 International Soca Monarch finalist Roderick Gordon (Chucky). Yesterday, the National Action Cultural Committee (NACC) announced the qualifiers for the final, scheduled for Monday, February 6 at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA),Port-of-Spain. All finalists are asked to contact the office immediately at 40 Duke Street, Port-of-Spain, and provide a recent photograph, a copy of their lyrics and their music scores. For further information Tel: 623-5470.


More info

The 2012 Young Kings Calypso Monarch finalists, in alphabetical order are:
•  Blaxx;
•  Bro Alpha;
•  Dee Diamond;
•  Derrick Seales (Dr Seales);
•  Dr Will B;
•  Duane O'Connor;
•  Hamidullah;
•  Kenson Neptune (Ninja);
•  Nigel Salickram;
• Olatunji;
•  Roderick Gordon (Chucky);
•  Rondell Greaves;
•  Sekon Alves;
•  Sheldon Nugget;
•  Stephen Marcelle;
•  Tobago finalist; and
•  Tobago finalist.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.