You are here

Gabrielle Hosein

Thursday, April 9, 2015
Universities are special. So too are university students, often the young, poised to choose from between the old and new.
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Though most days I don’t leave work until 6.30 pm, my mid-week classes end even later and I don’t get home until Ziya is already asleep.
Thursday, March 26, 2015
​It’s the stories that I love. Stories told by women who spent decades pressing for social change, and stories of solidarity by men sometimes almost twice my age.
Thursday, March 19, 2015
​Daily I grow more fed up with the People’s Partnership’s door-in-your-face approach to public accountability.
Thursday, March 12, 2015
​For years I stopped attending Phagwa celebrations, finding my own experience too full of male aggression for me to want to return.
Thursday, March 5, 2015
​At one primary school, the friendly teacher interviewing Ziya looked up from reading her form when, under religion, I listed “none.” “None?” she clarified incredulously, examining me anew, like I was
Thursday, February 26, 2015
As Saturday’s crescent moon rose over Cazabon Street in Belmont, people gathered from all over the world to remember Claudia Vera Cumberbatch, better known as Claudia Jones, on the one hundredth anniv
Thursday, February 19, 2015
​Block-talk style, my bredren were comparing the extent of punishment they thought should be inflicted on men who share sexually-explicit photos of women which they know were taken with an expectation
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Mas traditions involve specific chants, choreography and costumes, and playing a mas isn’t the same as playing yourself, though both matter.
Thursday, February 5, 2015
​You don’t go there thinking that you will learn about how to live, but so it was last week at the funeral of Marcia Henville.

Pages