You are here

Gabrielle Hosein

Monday, February 5, 2018
There are some ways of wielding power that should end a political dynasty, for they are so cynical, manipulative and unethical that collective disgust should rise up with toppling momentum.
Monday, January 29, 2018
Last year’s politically-astute megahit touched a deep chord in people’s spinal cord.
Monday, January 22, 2018
Carnival has always been about negotiation of gendered and sexual power. Think of jamettes’ long confrontation with middle-class and religious expectations of respectability.
Monday, January 15, 2018
Comandantas from Mexico’s Zapatista Army for National Liberation (EZLN) recently called for a global gathering of rebellious women.
Monday, January 8, 2018
I got nuff respect for sustained contribution and commitment beyond a news cycle, for it shows when care is real.
Thursday, February 1, 2018
Sans humanite” is our most identifiable cultural refrain, crossing centuries with its compelling, swaying echo of dark humour, stoicism, lament, and aspiration.
Sunday, December 24, 2017
I was wrapping Christmas gifts when I came across the BBC news story from November 3 on a “colossal ‘sea of plastic’ which stretches for miles” and was found floating in the Caribbean.
Monday, December 18, 2017
As terms concluded all over the country, parents sat through sweet, wonderful and interminable school and extra-curricular Christmas shows of various kinds.
Monday, December 11, 2017
I’m in Fiji at the Civicus World Assembly.
Monday, December 4, 2017
The real tief-head is when a company has a sexual harassment policy in place, and yet a victim can’t get justice.

Pages